Additional Attempts And Age Relaxation For Civil Service Candidates Are Impractical


The government has not deemed it practicable to alter the current rules governing the number of attempts and age limit for the civil services test, according to Union Minister Jitendra Singh on Wednesday.

According to the Minister of State for Personnel, the candidates filed writ petitions with the Supreme Court of India asking for an age relaxation and an additional chance to pass the civil services examination (CSE) because of COVID-19.

In a written response to Lok Sabha, he stated, “The matter was considered and it has not been found feasible to change the existing provisions regarding number of attempts and age-limit in respect of the civil services examination. This is in accordance with the judgments passed by Hon’ble Supreme Court of India.

However, COVID-19 caused a delay in the Staff Selection Commission’s (SSC) hiring process. Therefore, the SSC has determined that the key date for determining age for the exams being advertised in 2022 is January 1, 2022, Singh added.

According to the schedule for the administration of tier-II examinations, the key date for establishing age for these exams would have been August 1, 2022, or January 1, 2023, he continued.


What is UPSC?

The Union Public Service Commission is the full form  of UPSC. The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC), India’s main regulatory organisation, conducts the civil services test, one of the most difficult and prestigious examinations. The Indian government’s UPSC also holds a variety of competitive exams to fill open positions in the civil service.

The Civil Services Examination (CSE), often known as the IAS (Indian Administrative Service) exam, is administered by the UPSC. It is divided into the UPSC Prelims and UPSC Mains examinations. Objective-type questions are asked in the prelims exam, whereas descriptive and essay-style answers are required for the mains examinations. The UPSC is in charge of holding numerous exams for positions including IAS, IPS, and IFS, among others.


Background of UPSC.

In 1854, the British East India Company pioneered the idea of a Civil Service exam. The Indian Civil Service tests were first solely given in London. The first Indian to pass this test was Shri Satyendranath Tagore, the brother of Shri Rabindranath Tagore, in 1864. Indian civil service exams didn’t start being given in India till after the Montagu Chelmsford reforms.

On October 1, 1926, the Public Service Commission was established for the first time in India. The first Chairman of the Commission was Sir Ross Barker, a British member of the Home Civil Service. The Federal Public Service Commission became known as the Union Public Service upon the promulgation of the Constitution of India on January 26, 1950.As a result, UPSC was established as the central body for holding interviews for government jobs.


What roles does the UPSC play?

According to Article 320 of the Constitution, the UPSC has the following responsibilities:

  • Creating and amending the recruitment regulations for government services and positions.
  • Handling disciplinary matters involving various Civil Services or officers.
  • Hold the recruitment exams for those seeking employment in Union services.
  • Direct recruitment of candidates through interview selection.
  • Appointments of officers to the cadre based on promotions, deputations, or incorporation.
  • Giving advice to the government on any issues the commission is given by the president of India.


Which tests are administered by the UPSC?

You must be familiar with the UPSC’s examinations in order to comprehend the UPSC. Here is a list of tests that the UPSC has offered:

  1. Exams for the Naval Academy and National Defense Academy (NDA)
  2. Examining for the Indian Statistical Service (ISS)
  3. Examination for Indian Economic Service (IES)
  4. Examination for the Indian Forest Service (IFS)
  5. Exam for Combined Geoscientists and Geologists
  6. Indian Civil Services Examination (ICSE) for the selection of officers in the IAS, IPS, IRS, and other professions
  7. Examination for Indian Engineering Services
  8. Examination by the Combined Medical Services
  9. Examination for Central Armed Police Forces (ACs)
  10. Examination for the Combined Defence Services (CDS)
  11. Various Exams and Recruitment Tests for UPSC EPFO


UPSC Eligibility Criteria

Anyone  who holds Indian nationality who has completed their graduation in any subject with a grade point of 60 percent and falls between the age range of 21 to 32 as specified in the category is eligible to take this exam.


Number of UPSC Exam Attempts for Any Candidate

  • Candidates who are in the General and OBC Categories and Is a Member of the Creamy Layer – 7 Attempts
  • Candidates who belong from  OBC non-creamy layer have 9 attempts .
  • candidates for the Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe classification, there is no cap on the number of tries till they are 35.
  • On the off chance that they so desire, candidates who belong to the OBC, SC, or ST categories can take the first four exams as General Class competitors. After that, they can benefit from the category relaxation to reduce the number of exams they must take.

Share post:



More like this

Revitalizing India’s Electric Vehicle Subsidy Policy: A Sustainable Path Forward

India's electric vehicle (EV) subsidy policy is at a...

The Burning Man Festival and Its Climate Impact: A Deep Dive

The Burning Man Festival is an annual event that...

SaaS industry – Road to Recovery

The SaaS (Software as a Service) industry has faced...